Forgot Password
Course Login
Child Neglect

The National Resource Center on Child Abuse and Neglect Data System report defines neglect as “a type of maltreatment” that refers to the failure to provide needed, age-appropriate care. Professionals have defined four types of neglect including physical, emotional, educational and medical neglect.

Physical Neglect:

  • Extreme delay in seeking necessary health care
  • Child abandonment, inadequate supervision
  • Rejection of child leading to expulsion from the home
  • Failure to adequately provide for the child’s safety

Educational Neglect:

  • When a child is allowed to engage in chronic truancy
  • Not enrolled in school or receiving school training
  • Not receiving needed special educational training

Emotional Neglect:

  • Chronic or extreme spousal abuse in child’s presence
  • Allowing a child to use drugs or alcohol
  • Refusal or failure to provide needed psychological care
  • Constant belittling and withholding affection

Medical Neglect:

  • Failure to provide appropriate health care for a child

Types of Child Abuse: